Lifestyle

Instagram isn’t sending notifications for all screenshots

2 minutes to read

Instagram has been trying very VERY hard to be like Snapchat. By trying to be like one of its competitors, Instagram introduced a new feature to the masses. This is the ability to send photos and videos that delete themselves after a set period of time. Doesn’t that sound like another photo sharing app we know?

However, people started panicking when they thought that Instagram was going to be telling people whenever they took a screenshot of their photos. They assumed it was every photo uploaded to the app. Say goodbye to sending your bestie pictures of your crush, gushing at how adorable they look with a puppy or screenshotting images of celebs for inspiration. In reality, the photo app announced that they would only be notifying people whenever their disappearing photo or video has been screenshot, not just any photo or video that has been posted.

https://twitter.com/CommonWhiteGrls/status/802152875199700993

Once Instagram released the following statement, people calmed down because they realised that they were still able to lurk people in peace.

The statement is as follows:

Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.

You’d think with the introduction of this new feature to Instagram, Snapchat would be shaking in their boots. But according to new statistics, Australians can’t get enough of Snapchat. So, we think they’re pretty relaxed, despite Instagram’s attempts to out do them. Lucky them!